Our People

The Drug Discovery Unit attracts expertise from across the biopharmaceutical industry and academia. Our dynamic team is made up of over 100 highly skilled, experienced scientists from both academic and pharmaceutical industry backgrounds, with a professional, pioneering approach to our work.

Combined with our outstanding facilities, this has created a unique environment for industry ready drug discovery research within an academic environment.

Senior Leadership Team


Head of the Drug Discovery Unit

Professor Ian Gilbert FRSC

Interim Head of the DDU and Head of Medicinal Chemistry

Professor Kevin Read

Head of Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics

Professor David Gray

Head of Biology and Portfolio Manager for Innovative Targets Portfolio


Head of Business Development

Dr Manu De Rycker

Head of Translational Parasitology and Portfolio Leader for Kinetoplastids

Dr Catharine Goddard

WCAIR Centre Manager

Louise Burns

Finance Business Partner

Extended Leadership Team

Dr Beatriz Baragana

Apicomplexan Portfolio Manager

Dr Laura Cleghorn

TB Portfolio Manager


Coronavirus Portfolio Manager

Dr Fabio Zuccotto

Head of Computational Chemistry

Dr Vincent Postis

Molecular Interaction Team Leader

Dr Gary Tarver

Synthetic Methodologies Team Leader


Professor Mike Ferguson

Founder of the Drug Discovery Unit

Professor Alan Fairlamb